tнє ℓσνє σf ℓєαяnιng, tнє ѕєqυєѕtєяє∂ nσσкѕ αn∂ αℓℓ tнє ѕωєєt ѕєяєnιtу σf bσσкѕ. - нєηяу ωα∂ѕωσяtн ℓσngƒєℓℓσω
today 6/2/16 on aobibliosphere™ [aobibliospotlight™: A Boy Made of Blocks by Keith Stuart]

Saturday, December 18, 2010

review: kylie jean series by Marci Peschke

"But I'm pretty on the outside and on the inside." - Kylie Jean Carter

boys and girls dream of what they want to do or be when they grow up. for Kylie Jean Carter there is only one thing - to be a beauty queen.  
Kylie Jean is an eponymously named new chapter book series written by Marci Peschke with illustrations by Tuesday Mourning. it is about a spunky and charming little Texan girl, her family, friends and the other people in her life including Ugly Brother, the faithful pet bulldog.
Rodeo Queen
  • it is spring time and all's right with the world. the rodeo is coming to the small town of Jacksonville, Texas and Kylie Jean wants to be Rodeo Queen. if she expects to get the title, she must learn some rodeo lessons like barrel-racing. 
Blueberry Queen
  • summer arrives and the blueberries are ripe for picking. everyone is looking forward to the Blueberry Festival especially Kylie Jean because every year one girl is chosen Blueberry Queen and she would just love to have that tiara on her head.
Drama Queen
  • summer comes to an end and Kylie Jean heads back to school. she is now in second grade. her whole class gets ready for a  production of Alice in Wonderland and she hopes to play the Queen of Hearts but the new girl Paula Dupree might just steal it from her.
Hoop Queen
  • during fall, Kylie Jean catches basketball fever. she has to gather pledges and  make lots of baskets at the Free Throw Tournament in order to be the year's Hoop Queen. but first she must learn how to play the game.
i surprised myself when i realized that i could still enjoy books aimed at readers aged 6 to 9. perhaps because it was also around that time that i began my love affair with the written word. i loved reading the series and the books do not have to be read in any particular order. each can stand alone. i would definitely recommend them for their universal appeal. 
family-oriented values, obedience, friendship, resourcefulness, cooperation, generosity, humor and insight are just some of the themes found in the books. there are also recipes and fun stuff to do at the end of each one. together, parents and their children will certainly have a lot to look forward to when the series debuts in January 2011.

my personal rating is:

Disclosure of Material Connection: i received Advance Reader's Editions of Blueberry Queen, Hoop Queen, Rodeo Queen and Drama Queen from Picture Window Books, a division of Capstone Publishers through NetGalley.com  i did not receive any payment in exchange for this review nor was I obligated to write a positive one. all opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of this review. this disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...